Department of Communications and Public Affairs
Commissions - Special Events

Martin Luther King, Jr.

The “Martin Luther King, Jr. Memorial City-County Commission,” now referred to as the “San Antonio Martin Luther King, Jr. Commission” or MLK Commission, was established on April 3, 1986, by official act of the San Antonio City Council through City Resolution No. 86-15-19 under the leadership of then Mayor Henry Cisneros.

The MLK Commission is a volunteer organization that each year, since 1987, coordinates the City's official commemoration of the life and legacy of Dr. King. In 2012, San Antonio celebrated the 25th anniversary of the City-sponsored commemorative march and program.

The march, with an average annual attendance of more than 100,000 participants, is one of the largest commemorations in the nation honoring Dr. King.