Department of Communications and Public Affairs

Published on Wednesday, October 18, 2017

Councilman Treviño reflects on 3rd annual Distinction in the Arts Awards

CONTACT: Justin Renteria, (210) 296-7213

SAN ANTONIO (Oct. 18, 2017) – Last night, District 1 City Councilman Roberto C. Treviño and The City of San Antonio hosted the 3rd annual Distinction in the Arts Awards at the Tobin Center. Award recipients included: Vernon ‘Spot’ Barnett, Cesar Martinez, Belinda Menchaca, Paula Owen, Dr. Carmen Tafolla, and The Russell Hill Rogers Fund For The Arts. Councilman Treviño, who founded the awards in partnership with the Department of Arts and Culture, provided this statement: 

“Distinction in the Arts has now brought the highest level of recognition to 18 deserving local artists and arts patrons. Everything about last night’s awards ceremony, from the recipients to the unforgettable live performances, reaffirms our city’s status/place as a great city for the arts.

To hear DIA recipient Dr. Carmen Tafolla proudly state, “San Antonio does right by its artists” was humbling and truly a testament to the continual cultivation of talent and deep -seeded respect this city has for all art mediums. Congratulations to all of the 2017 award recipients, and thank you for your contributions to the local anthology of art. You truly represent the best artistic spirit that San Antonio has to offer.

Thank you to Mayor Ron Nirenberg, all of the attendees, the Department of Arts and Culture, host Jesse Borrego, and the Tobin Center for your involvement. Your continued support will help in transforming this event into a time-honored tradition for years to come.”

Number of views (2136)

Author: Cambri Ensminger (GPA)

Categories: City News, Mayor & Council