News & Events


Economic Development Department
Frost Bank Tower
100 West Houston Street, 19th Floor
San Antonio, TX 78205


Monday - Friday, 8:00 am - 5:00 pm
Email EDD

Email EDD Visit EDD on Facebook Follow EDD on twitter Follow EDD on WordPress Follow EDD on YouTube

Published on Friday, April 29, 2016

Cities of San Antonio and Darmstadt Formalize Relationship through Signing of a Friendship City Agreement

Media Contacts: 
City of San Antonio Economic Development Department: Jeannette Garcia 210.207.3915 |

SAN ANTONIO (April 29, 2016) – Today, Mayor Ivy R. Taylor signed a Friendship City Agreement with the Lord Mayor of Darmstadt, Jochen Partsch, creating the first formal relationship between San Antonio and Germany, a key targeted country for our city’s economic development, according to the San Antonio Trade and Investment Strategy.

“Darmstadt holds the title of ‘City of Science’ and is also known as the city of poets, thinkers and space explorers. San Antonio is a city that is known for its state-of-the art biosciences and diverse and rich cultural heritage. We have much to learn from each other and I am thrilled that our two cities are entering into a Friendship City agreement with one another,” said Mayor Taylor during a news conference announcing the agreement.

“Both of our cities have much in common in the fields of economy, science and culture,” said Lord Mayor Partsch. “I am more than pleased to once again meet with the representatives of the City of San Antonio, further develop cooperation between our cities, and exchange ideas with several institutions and organizations throughout our visit.”

Last July, a small delegation that included Mayor Taylor, District 3 Councilwoman Rebecca Viagran and San Antonio Chamber President Richard Perez, visited Darmstadt and were hosted by Lord Mayor Partsch. During the visit, a Letter of Intent was signed by the two mayors with the following areas of potential collaboration:

  • Information and Communication Technologies/Cybersecurity
  • Aerospace/Aviation
  • Health Care and Biosciences
  • Sustainability and Energy
  • Heritage Tourism and Travel
  • Cultural and Educational Exchange

The Friendship City Agreement expands upon the sectors listed in the Letter of Intent aiming to further cement the economic development and cultural ties between both cities.

Darmstadt, Germany will be San Antonio’s fourth Friendship City, which is the step prior to becoming an official Sister City through Sister Cities International, the nonpartisan 501(c)(3) non-profit that serves as the national membership organization for individual sister cities, counties, and states across the U.S.

San Antonio has nine official Sister Cities, which are: Monterrey, Mexico; Guadalajara, Mexico; Las Palmas, Canary Islands, Spain; Gwangju, South Korea; Kaohsiung, Taiwan; Santa Cruz de Tenerife, Canary Islands, Spain; Kumamoto, Japan; Chennai, India; and Wuxi, China, as well as three additional Friendship Cities, which are: Suzhou, China; Tel Aviv, Israel; and Windhoek, Namibia.

Number of views (7573)

Categories: Economic Development