Small Business Advocacy Committee (SBAC)


Economic Development Department
Frost Bank Tower
100 West Houston Street, 19th Floor
San Antonio, TX 78205


Monday - Friday, 8:00 am - 5:00 pm
Email SBO

Email EDD Visit EDD on Facebook Follow EDD on twitter Follow EDD on WordPress Follow EDD on YouTube

The Small Business Advocacy Committee (SBAC) is a group of citizens appointed by the Mayor and City Council to advise on issues affecting small businesses in the San Antonio area. The committee advises the Mayor, City Council and the City Manager on business issues, goals and related policies concerning small, minority, and women-owned businesses that are ready, willing, and able to do business with the City, under the policies set forth in the SBEDA ordinance. In addition, they make recommendations concerning modifications of programs and procedures established in the SBEDA Program.

In 2014, the SBAC established three subcommittees to specifically focus on important initiatives under the purview of the Committee.

Disparity Study Subcommittee                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                               The purpose of the Disparity Study Subcommittee is to provide feedback on various tasks connected with the development of the City’s new disparity study and assist with public engagement efforts associ­ated with the disparity study. 

Diversity Action Plan Subcommittee                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                    The Five-Year Diversity Action Plan was adopted by City Council in January 2013. The Diversity Action Plan Subcommittee oversees the implementation of the strategies and tactics aimed at increasing the availability and utilization of minority and wom­en-owned businesses included in the five year plan. 

Marketing Subcommittee                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                        The Marketing Subcommittee provides recommen­dations for outreach and promotion of the City’s SBEDA Program and the SBAC. The City of San An­tonio Vendor Orientation sessions, initiated in 2014, were a direct result of feedback provided by this sub­committee. 

The SBAC is advisory in nature. Find information regarding City of San Antonio Board and Commission guidelines and the complete ethics code on the Boards & Commissions section of  

SBAC meetings are held on the third Tuesday of every month at the offices of the Economic Development Department, located on the 19th Floor of the Frost Bank Tower, 100 W. Houston Street. Meetings begin at 3:00 p.m. and are open to the public.  

For more information please contact the Small Business Office at 210.207.3900 or


Anne-Marie Grube

District 1 - Anne-Marie Grube
Northwestern Mutual

Default Person

District 2 - Michael R. Hall, Vice Chair
New Kids on the Block Learning Center

Jane Thomas

District 3 - Jane Thomas, Chair
Apple Specialty Advertising

Clarissa Perez

District 4 - Clarissa Perez
Perez BDS

Jesus Rodriguez

District 5 - Jesus Rodriguez
EGR Contracting, Inc. 

Linda M. Jackson

District 6 - Chris Hanel
Tegna Broadcasting 

Grace Gonzales-Padron

District 7 – Melanie Tawil
Swipe Track

Roland F. Gonzales

District 8 - Roland F. Gonzales
Cokinos, Bosien, Young

 Julissa Carielo

District 9 – Steven Gonzalez
Vickrey & Associates
 George Balliet

District 10 - Martin Gomez, Jr.
WestEast Design Group
Christopher Herring
Mayoral - Christopher Herring
Texas Association of African American Chambers of Commerce