Release Date: October 6, 2006
City of San Antonio Communications and Public Affairs Department: 207-7234


Alcaldes Plaque to be Unveiled for 275th Anniversary
October 18th event will honor 110 mayors as part of year-long City celebration

Mayor Phil Hardberger and the City Council will pay tribute to their earliest predecessors of local government by unveiling a plaque honoring the first 110 alcaldes of San Antonio as part of the City’s 275th Anniversary. City leaders will join The Friends of the Canary Islands Foundation for the unveiling on Wednesday, October 18, at 5:30 p.m. in the foyer of the Municipal Plaza Building, 114 W. Commerce.

The event is part of the 275th Anniversary commemoration of the founding of San Antonio by the Canary Islanders. Two mayors from the Canary Island of Lanzarote will be in attendance. San Bartolome Mayor Miguel Martin and Teguise Mayor Juan Pedro Hernandez will enjoy a welcoming reception following the plaque unveiling.

The approximately three by four-foot plaque lists the alcaldes of San Antonio from 1731 to 1836. Alcalde is the Spanish term for mayor and was used to denote the office prior to Texas statehood. Many of the names appearing on the plaque were descendants of the Canary Islands or men who arrived here from that region of Spain.

The plaque will become a permanent fixture in Municipal Plaza, which also features portraits of San Antonio mayors from Samuel Maverick to more recent leaders.

For more information, call Director of International Affairs Elizabeth Costello at 207-8100.


Business | City Services | Departments | Government | Residents | Recreation
Home | Privacy Policy and Disclaimer

Website best viewed using Microsoft Internet Explorer 7.0
with screen resolution settings of 800x600.