News Releases 2008

Release Date: October 5, 2009
Office of the City Clerk



San Antonio City Clerk Leticia M. Vacek has been selected as the 2009 Municipal Clerk of the Year by the Texas Municipal Clerks Association (TMCA), Inc. TMCA, Inc. is a professional organization with 924 members dedicated to serving the demands of excellence in Texas local government. Vacek will be recognized at an Awards Banquet held this Thursday evening, October 8, at the TMCA, Inc. Graduate Institute at the Menger Hotel, 204 Alamo Plaza.

Vacek was nominated by her colleagues of the Alamo Chapter, TMCA, Inc. in May 2009. Of the 13 state-wide nominations received by the Municipal Clerk of the Year Committee, Vacek was selected as the 2009 recipient. She has served as President of the Alamo Chapter and previously served as President of the Rio Grande Valley Chapter. Nominees for the award must meet varied criteria to be considered by the Municipal Clerk of the Year Committee of the TMCA, Inc. Such criteria are leadership abilities; must have provided service to other municipal clerks on a local or state level; must have earned the Texas Registered Municipal Clerk (TRMC) designation; must be the City Clerk and must be a member of TMCA, Inc. for at least five years. Vacek has been a member for 22 years. She received her TRMC designation in 1990 and next year will complete her fourth recertification; recertification is required every five years.

The Texas Municipal Clerk of the Year is the most prestigious award that can be bestowed upon a Texas Municipal Clerk. “This recognition provides me, without a doubt, a true sense of responsibility in carrying out the vision of the TMCA, Inc. I truly feel I have made a difference in Texas,” said Vacek.

The San Antonio City Council recognized Vacek at a City Council meeting with a dozen yellow Texas Roses. “Leticia brings a spectacular work ethic, integrity and professionalism to her work. This recognition is well-deserved,” said Mayor Julián Castro.

Vacek will be joined by Mayor Castro and City Council members on October 8 for the honor. Former City Council members that have served with her will also be present to applaud her contributions to the profession and the city.


Business | City Services | Departments | Government | Residents | Recreation
Home | Privacy Policy and Disclaimer

Website best viewed using Microsoft Internet Explorer 7.0
with screen resolution settings of 800x600.