Office of the City Attorney
Paid Sick Leave

Paid Sick Leave Ordinance

On Aug.16, 2018 San Antonio City Council approved an ordinance amending Chapter 15 of the City Code requiring that certain employees in San Antonio be provided earned paid sick time for use if an employee needs to be absent from work due to illness or if a family member experiences illness.

Ad Hoc Committee on Paid Sick Leave

In November 2018 Mayor Ron Nirenberg created the Ad Hoc Committee on Paid Sick Leave composed of Councilmembers:

  • Shirley Gonzales
  • Manny Pelaez
  • Ana Sandoval
  • Rebecca Viagran

The ad hoc committee is charged with creating a Paid Sick Leave Commission and establishing a process that incorporates the input of all stakeholders to arrive at final recommendations for Council. The process should explicitly target business input, and seek data and analysis regarding the impact of the ordinance.

The ad hoc committee will appoint the Paid Sick Leave Commission in March 2019. The Commission is expected to make recommendations regarding changes and modifications to the paid sick leave ordinance. City Council will review the Commission’s recommendations and will vote on whether to adopt those recommendations. The ordinance will currently go into effect on August 1, 2019 for employers with six (6) or more employees, and on August 1, 2021 for employers with five (5) or fewer employees.

Ad Hoc Committee Meetings

Paid Sick Leave Commission

  • Danielle Hargrove, Chair
  • Christine Arredondo
  • Alex Birnel
  • Sasha Begum
  • Rev C.J. Littlefield
  • Lisa Fullerton
  • Kausi Subramaniam
  • Linda Chavez-Thompson
  • Joleen Garcia
  • Diane Sanchez
  • Al Arreola Jr.
  • Bob Livar, Jr.
  • Adelita Cantu

Commission Meetings