Employee Management Committee (EMC)

Contact HR Customer Service  

Mailing Address
P.O. Box 839966
San Antonio, TX 78283-3966

Physical Address
Riverview Towers Building
111 Soledad, Suite 100
San Antonio, TX 78205


Monday - Friday
7:45 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.

Contact HR Customer Service Email

Contact HR Customer Service Visit Human Resources on Facebook Follow Human Resources on Twitter Human Resources on YouTube Human Resources on LinkedIn


  • Lori Steward 
    Human Resources Director

The Employee Management Committee (EMC) was established by ordinance in August 2004 to provide a structured communication process by which the City and its employees can discuss matters pertaining to wages, hours of work, and other conditions of employment.

2019 EMC Election

The EMC is made up of three department directors on a rotating basis, the City Manager or designee, the Human Resources Director or designee, employee association representatives, and one employee representative from each of the seven represented Equal Employment Opportunity (EEO) categories. The Ordinance requires that members of the EMC be elected and serve for a period of three years. 

An election to select EEO category representatives will be held in October. Representation may be by either a registered employee association or an individual employee. Anyone interested in representing their EEO category on the EMC must submit a petition to the City Clerk's Office with signatures representing a minimum of 10% of the employees in their respective EEO category. Signatures may be collected from July 1 - September 30.


current emc members 

Category Member Organization
One representative from each registered employee organization Angela Hewett
Rudy Rosales
Roger Arnold
Henry Bassuk            
Roger Tamez           
SEIU Texas
One city employee member of each registered employee organization, as designated by the registered employee organization. Vacant
Alma Cunningham
Cresencio Sandoval
Robert Jones
SEIU Texas
Representative from City Manager's Office Lori Steward HR Director
Representative from Human Resources Department Renee Frieda Assistant HR Director
Three Department Directors

David McCary
Jorge Perez
Heber Lefgren

Solid Waste Management
Building & Equipment Services
Animal Care Services 
One employee from each EEO Category (currently held by SEIU) Patricia Reck 
Rachel Cavazos
Dee Lim
Richard Pena                 
Arturo Reyes
Homero Perez
Elizabeth Rios                       
Skilled Craft
Protective Services

EmC Newsletter

    EMC News, Issue #1
    EMC News, Issue #2 (English Spanish)
    EMC News, Issue #3 (English Spanish)
    EMC News, Issue #4 (English Spanish)
    EMC News, Issue #5 (English Spanish)
    EMC News, Issue #6 (English Spanish)
    EMC News, Issue #7 (English Spanish)
    EMC News, Issue #8 (English Spanish)
    EMC News, Issue #9 (English Spanish)
    EMC News, Issue #10 (English Spanish)
    EMC News, Issue #11 (English Spanish)
    EMC News, Issue #12 (English Spanish)
    EMC News, Issue #13 (English Spanish)