Bingo Prize Fees

Bingo Prize Fees

In June 2019, Texas House Bill 914 amended the Government Code and the Bingo Enabling Act by requiring Bingo License Holders to remit Cash Prize Fees directly to counties and municipalities in addition to the Texas Lottery Commission for its portion.

Effective January 1, 2020, Bingo License Holders are required to distribute Cash Prize Fees directly to their local government(s) within 25 days of the end of each quarter.

The governing bodies of the City of San Antonio and Bexar County have each voted for the continued receipt of their share of the Cash Prize Fee collected under the Texas Occupations Code.

The City has contracted with the Bexar County to collect Cash Prize Fees on their behalf.

Beginning with the 1st Bingo Quarterly Report for the last quarter of 2019 which is due no later than January 25, 2020, Bingo License Holders located in the City of San Antonio and/or Bexar County are required to distribute 2.50% of the Cash Prize Fees (with 50% applicable to the City and 50% applicable to the County) directly to the City.

The City and County will provide a one-time transitional grace period for the application of Penalty and Interest which will be in effect until March 1, 2020 for the reporting and payment of City and County Cash Prize Fees for the 4th quarter of 2019 due no later than January 25, 2020.

The Texas Lottery Commission has advised that as of January 1, 2020, they will be returning checks that exceed the exact amount due to the State and will not accept Cash Prize Fees due to a county or municipality. You may also access their website for ongoing information at:

Reporting Forms