Sister Cities

What is a Sister City?

Sister Cities International (SCI) is a national initiative begun by Dwight D. Eisenhower shortly after World War II, to develop economic, cultural and technical exchanges between US cities, counties, and states with corresponding communities worldwide. The goal of the Sister Cities program is to involve people and organized groups at all levels of society, establishing productive, people-to-people relationships through global community partnerships and volunteer action.

Today, the SCI represents 1,200 US cities, counties and states and their 2,100 partners in 125 countries worldwide. As international cooperation gains importance, city-to-city programs continue to play a significant role in overall global development and cultural understanding.

A World of Opportunities

The City of San Antonio enjoys active and productive Sister City relationships with eleven cities worldwide. Sister Cities offer unique opportunities for diverse and exciting exchanges with residents in foreign communities. 

In addition to our Sister Cities, San Antonio maintains a number of official Friendship City relationships.
Learn more about San Antonio's Friendship CitiesMore icon

San Antonio Sister Cities

  • Monterrey, Nuevo Leon, Mexico (Established 1953, first Mexican city to have a US Sister City)
  • Guadalajara, Jalisco, Mexico (Established 1974)
  • Las Palmas, Canary Islands, Spain (Established 1975)
  • Gwangju, South Korea (Established 1981)
  • Kaohsiung, Taiwan (Established 1982)
  • Santa Cruz de Tenerife, Canary Islands, Spain (Established 1983)
  • Kumamoto, Japan (Established 1987)
  • Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India (Established 2008)
  • Wuxi, Jiangsu Province, China (Established 2012)
  • Windhoek, Namibia (Established 2016)
  • Darmstadt, Germany (Established 2017)

Scroll over and click on the photographs below for more information about each city.