San Antonio Martin Luther King, Jr. Commission
About the MLK Commission


By Mail

City of San Antonio MLK Commission
Attn: Mike Etienne, Ph.D.
Neighborhood & Housing Services Department
P O Box 839966
San Antonio, Texas 78283

By Phone

Council District 2 Office 210.207.0950


  • Mike Etienne, PhDContact the Executive Commission Liaison
    Executive Commission Liaison
  • Madeleine MendezContact the Executive Commission Liaison
    Commission Liaison
  • Susy RomeroContact the Media Contact
    Media Contact

Dr. "San Antonio Martin Luther King, Jr. Commission" or "MLK, Jr. Commission," was established on April 3, 1986, by official act of the San Antonio City Council through City Resolution No. 86-15-19 under the leadership of then-Mayor Henry Cisneros. The MLK, Jr. Commission is a volunteer organization. On January 19, 1987, chaired by Aaronetta Pierce, the Commission and the City of San Antonio held its first official Martin Luther King, Jr. March.

The MLK, Jr. Commission organizes the march and leads the community effort of various events paying tribute to Dr. King. The wide variety of educational, inspirational and celebratory events, take place at locations across the city.


The mission of the San Antonio Martin Luther King, Jr. Commission is to promote human equality, the principles of nonviolence, and the understanding and acceptance of racial harmony, understanding, respect, and goodwill among citizens, all as a way of building community among all citizens of San Antonio and across the United States.


The Commission advances its mission through a variety of events and programs by encouraging awareness, acceptance, and appreciation of the teachings and philosophy of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. and the legacy of the Civil Rights Movement.

Commission Meetings

Commission meeting dates are the 2nd Monday of every month at 6:00 pm at the Barbara Jordan Community Center located at 2803 E. Commerce St. San Antonio TX 78203.

Commission Members

Councilman Art Hall
Honorary Chair
Bishop Rosa Wilson 
Early Morning Worship
Nathaniel Davis
Commission/March Program Chair
Kathleen Carter-Stiggers 
Fundraising Chair
Pastor Keely Petty
Vice Chair
Nettie Hinton
Interfaith Service Chair
Mia Morris 
Commemorative Program Chair
Mary Fulton Moore Contact Mary Fulton Moore
Wreath Laying Chair
Dr. Tonja Nelson
Carla Walker Contact Carla Walker
Outreach & Communication Chair
Elizabeth Holmes
Gospel Extravaganza Chair
Dr. Karla Duran 
Harold Moore 
Wreath Laying Chair
Russell LaDay Contact Russell LaDay
Dr. George Williams Contact Dr. George Williams
Scholarship Chair
Adriana El-Farrah 
Alli RomanContact Alli Roman
Trinity University Representative 
Gail Collins
Dr. Marcheta Evans
Chaunice Holley
Kevin Shandy
David Sherman
Dr. Leah Alviar

DreamWeek San Antonio

DreamWeek is a 12 day celebration of events that fosters the exchange of ideas on universal issues in order to promote tolerance, equality, and diversity. The January, city-wide summit of events takes place in downtown San Antonio and provides a forum for the global community to unite and discuss ideas that will inspire and shape a greater, enlightened society. The 12 days of global exchange and festivities include a series of keynote speaking engagements, mixers, events, and celebrations that foster discussions designed to inspire and motivate the community into creating a more tolerant and enlightened society.

DreamWeek culminates in a 150,000+ person march organized by the City of San Antonio’s MLK Commission. The Summit goal is to honor the teachings of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., and to proliferate and modernize his aspirations, as well as advance the wisdom and enlightenment of great humanitarians like him.

For more information, please visit DreamWeek.