Mayor Ron Nirenberg

sa.Gov Home > Office of the Mayor


  • Jim Greenwoodcontact icon
    Chief of Staff
  • Bruce Davidsoncontact icon
    Communications Director
  • Zack Lykecontact icon
    Senior Communications Advisor
  • Victoria Gonzalezcontact icon
    Sr. Policy Advisor
  • Ivalis Gonzalez Mezacontact icon
    Director of Policy & Public Engagement
  • Rocío Guenthercontact icon
    Director of Constituent Services
  • Jackie Boldscontact icon
    Executive Assistant
  • Alice Aguirrecontact icon
    Senior Executive Secretary

Published on Thursday, December 07, 2017

Mayor Nirenberg nominates Tricentennial Co-Chairs

CONTACT: Bruce Davidson, 210-207-8998 

Maria Luisa Cesar, 210-861-9030

SAN ANTONIO (Dec. 7, 2017) — Mayor Ron Nirenberg on Thursday nominated Dr. Cynthia Teniente-Matson and Dr. John Folks for City Council consideration as Co-Chairs and members of the Executive Committee of the San Antonio Tricentennial Commission.

Dr. Teniente-Matson is president of Texas A&M-San Antonio, and a current member of the Tricentennial Commission. Mayor Nirenberg, in correspondence to the Commission, requested that Dr. Teniente-Matson be elected as its President, as outlined in the organization’s corporate bylaws.

Dr. Folks is the former superintendent of the Northside Independent School District, who served 10 years leading the district.

Upon Council approval, Dr. Teniente-Matson and Dr. Folks will replace co-chairs Robert Thrailkill and Katie Luber, who are stepping down from the Executive Committee to coordinate major events for the Tricentennial. Under Commission by-laws, City Council has the authority to appoint Co-Chairs.

Thrailkill and Luber remain as special advisors to the Commission’s executive director.

“I am pleased that Cynthia Teniente-Matson and John Folks are willing to bring their considerable leadership talents to the forefront by agreeing to become Co-Chairs of the Commission,” Mayor Nirenberg said. “Both have impressive experience as highly effective leaders of large organizations.”

Mayor Nirenberg expressed his appreciation to the nominees and outgoing Co-Chairs, adding that all are playing significant roles in making the Tricentennial a success for the city.

“The changes I am announcing today are part of the natural evolution of the commission as the outgoing Co-Chairs redirect their attention to specific Tricentennial-related activities,” added Mayor Nirenberg.

“I am incredibly grateful for the leadership and service that Thrailkill and Luber have contributed to the Commission’s efforts,” said Mayor Nirenberg.

Luber, the Kelso director of the San Antonio Museum of Art, is organizing two ground-breaking international Tricentennial art exhibitions. Thrailkill is playing a key role in organizing the New Year’s Eve celebration.

“The Tricentennial celebration promises to be phenomenal showcase of our community’s vibrant culture and history, and I am honored and privileged to have contributed to this effort for the past two years,” said Thrailkill. “Given the Commission’s new direction and leadership, I believe the Commission is well positioned to beautifully carry out its mission.”

Number of views (3981)

Author: Anonym

Categories: City News, Mayor & Council, Mayor Ron Nirenberg