Mayor Ron Nirenberg

sa.Gov Home > Office of the Mayor


  • Ivalis Gonzalez Mezacontact icon
    Chief of Staff
  • Bruce Davidsoncontact icon
    Director of Communications
  • Michelle Lugalia-Holloncontact icon
    Director of Policy
  • Rocío Guenthercontact icon
    Director of Constituent Services
  • Zack Lykecontact icon
    Senior Communications Advisor
  • Victoria Shoemakercontact icon
    Senior Advisor
  • Juan Valdezcontact icon
    Senior Advisor
  • Jackie Boldscontact icon
    Executive Assistant
  • Cynthia Ybarracontact icon
    Interim Senior Executive Secretary

Published on Thursday, September 6, 2018

Council accepts Mayor’s Housing Policy Task Force report, approves recommendations

CONTACT: Bruce Davidson, 210-207-8998  
Alex Sarabia, 210-207-8979


SAN ANTONIO (Sept. 6, 2018) — City Council today voted overwhelmingly to accept the historic Mayor’s Housing Policy Task Force and approved key recommendations to ensure an adequate supply of affordable housing.


Saying the vote marked an important milestone in San Antonio’s history, Mayor Ron Nirenberg praised the year-long effort by the task force.


"I’m very proud of the task force’s report, and I will do everything in my power to make real progress on affordable housing,” Mayor Nirenberg said. “All San Antonians, regardless of income level, deserve opportunities to find affordable housing within the city limits.”


The task force studied housing trends, examined data and heard from more than 500 San Antonians over the past year. The panel’s report confirmed the city has an affordable housing problem and suggested recommendations for solving it.


“San Antonio is the most affordable, vibrant big city in America to raise a family and pursue your future,” the Mayor added, “but that economic edge depends on everyone having a place to call home.”


Over the past decade, San Antonio housing prices rose by about five percent while incomes have only increased by about two percent per year.  


Task force recommendations included creating a coordinated housing system led by a city executive focused exclusively on housing, incentives to spur development of affordable housing units and measures to protect neighborhoods from displacement.


The complete report can be found at


The task force is led by Chairwoman Lourdes Castro-Ramírez. Members include Jim Bailey, María Berriozábal, Gene Dawson Jr. and Noah Garcia.



Number of views (2773)