Mayor Ron Nirenberg

sa.Gov Home > Office of the Mayor


  • Ivalis Gonzalez Mezacontact icon
    Chief of Staff
  • Bruce Davidsoncontact icon
    Director of Communications
  • Michelle Lugalia-Holloncontact icon
    Director of Policy
  • Rocío Guenthercontact icon
    Director of Constituent Services
  • Zack Lykecontact icon
    Senior Communications Advisor
  • Victoria Shoemakercontact icon
    Senior Advisor
  • Juan Valdezcontact icon
    Senior Advisor
  • Jackie Boldscontact icon
    Executive Assistant
  • Alice Aguirrecontact icon
    Senior Executive Secretary

Published on Wednesday, December 4, 2019

Mayor Nirenberg Joins New Climate Mayors Steering Committee to Guide Citywide Climate Action

Committee will serve to galvanize U.S. climate leadership at the local level among 400+ network members

CONTACT: Bruce Davidson, 210.207.8998
Zack Lyke, 210.207.8448

SAN ANTONIO (Dec. 4, 2019) – Today, Mayor Nirenberg announced his participation in the newly launched Climate Mayors Steering Committee, a group of 24 mayors who will serve as a leading voice in efforts to further climate action in the more than 400 cities across the U.S. making up the Climate Mayors coalition.

The Steering Committee will work alongside the Climate Mayors’ Chair, Mayor Eric Garcetti, and Co-Chairs, Mayors Madeline Rogero, Sylvester Turner, and Martin J. Walsh to highlight the importance of city-led climate action in creating healthier, cleaner, and more equitable and sustainable cities. The Steering Committee will also work to catalyze membership and more deeply engage their regions, as well as showcase the impactful work of existing Climate Mayors and how cities are helping meet the scope and the scale of the challenge posed by climate change.

“San Antonio has proven that even in South Texas we are committed to tackling this looming crisis,” said Mayor Nirenberg. “We’re not going to let politics obstruct our path to a cleaner, healthier future. The time to act is now.” x

“Cities across our country and around the world see the impacts of climate change firsthand -- and we stand front and center in the fight to address this crisis with every tool at our disposal,” said Los Angeles Mayor Eric Garcetti. “No matter what happens on the national level, cities know we cannot afford any more debates or delays, so we will continue to act to meet the goals of the Paris Agreement, protect our most vulnerable residents, strengthen global health, and create a green economy that works for everyone.”


As a Climate Mayors member city, San Antonio has committed to bold climate action and has followed through on it by adopting SA Climate Ready, which aims for San Antonio to be carbon neutral by 2050.

“The Climate Mayors network is more than four hundred strong, and counting,” said James Ritchotte, Director of Climate Mayors. “We’re excited to have these mayors lead us in showcasing the important work of cities and maximizing the collective impact of Climate Mayors across the country who are fighting climate change in their communities.”

The following mayors are members of the Climate Mayors Steering Committee:

  1. Steve Adler (Austin, TX)
  2. Ethan Berkowitz (Anchorage, AK)
  3. Jim Brainard (Carmel, IN)
  4. Michael Cahill (Beverly, MA)
  5. Kirk Caldwell (Honolulu, HI)
  6. LaToya Cantrell (New Orleans, LA)
  7. Melvin Carter (Saint Paul, MN)
  8. Jane Castor (Tampa, FL)
  9. Frank Cownie (Des Moines, IA)
  10. Bill de Blasio (New York City
  11. Mike Duggan (Detroit, MI)
  12. Buddy Dyer (Orlando, FL)
  13. Kevin Faulconer (San Diego, CA)
  14. Greg Fischer (Louisville, KY)
  15. Kate Gallego (Phoenix, AZ)
  16. Michael Hancock (Denver, CO)v
  17. James Hovland (Edina, MN
  18. Eric Johnson (Dallas, TX
  19. Lioneld Jordan (Fayetteville, AR)
  20. Tim Keller (Albuquerque, NM)
  21. Ron Nirenberg (San Antonio, TX)
  22. Bill Peduto (Pittsburgh, PA)
  23. Satya Rhodes-Conway (Madison, WI)
  24. Lucy Vinis (Eugene, OR)
Number of views (1256)