Mayor Ron Nirenberg

sa.Gov Home > Office of the Mayor


  • Ivalis Gonzalez Mezacontact icon
    Chief of Staff
  • Bruce Davidsoncontact icon
    Director of Communications
  • Michelle Lugalia-Holloncontact icon
    Director of Policy
  • Rocío Guenthercontact icon
    Director of Constituent Services
  • Zack Lykecontact icon
    Senior Communications Advisor
  • Victoria Shoemakercontact icon
    Senior Advisor
  • Juan Valdezcontact icon
    Senior Advisor
  • Jackie Boldscontact icon
    Executive Assistant
  • Alice Aguirrecontact icon
    Senior Executive Secretary
Mayor Nirenberg, Judge Wolff name COVID-19 Economic Transition Team

Published on Tuesday, April 21, 2020

Mayor Nirenberg, Judge Wolff name COVID-19 Economic Transition Team

For members of the media, please contact:
Laura Mayes, City of San Antonio (210) 207-1337
Michelle Vigil, City of San Antonio (210) 207-8172

For questions from the general public, please contact:
COVID-19 Hotline (210) 207-5779


SAN ANTONIO (April 21, 2020) — Mayor Ron Nirenberg and County Judge Nelson Wolff  today announced the formation of the COVID-19 Economic Transition Team, which will help guide the safe reintroduction of activities and businesses suspended by the national pandemic. 

“It is imperative that we begin to chart a course for life after this pandemic’s surge, understanding that how and when our full economy resumes will have critical implications on our general public’s health and our region’s resiliency,” wrote Mayor Nirenberg and Judge Wolff in a joint memo to City Council and Commissioners Court.

The Stay Home, Work Safe social distancing orders have been effective and helped save lives, Nirenberg and Wolff wrote. They added, “While we will remain vigilant, we also acknowledge that such measures will not be permanent.”

The team will consider best practices and their applicability to area industries, sector-based guidelines for physical distancing and strategies to support preventative health and safety of workforce and vulnerable populations, and other factors.

Kevin Voelkel, president of Toyota Manufacturing Texas, and Julissa Carielo, president of Tejas Premier Building Contractors, will co-chair the economic transition team. Councilwoman Rebecca Viagran and Commissioner Sergio “Chico” Rodriguez will serve as liaisons to the economic transition team.

The COVID-19 Economic Transition Team will present its plan to City Council and 
Commissioners Court in early May.

The joint memo from Mayor Nirenberg and Judge Wolff is attached.

Number of views (4564)

Documents to download