Mayor Ron Nirenberg

sa.Gov Home > Office of the Mayor


  • Ivalis Gonzalez Mezacontact icon
    Chief of Staff
  • Bruce Davidsoncontact icon
    Director of Communications
  • Michelle Lugalia-Holloncontact icon
    Director of Policy
  • Rocío Guenthercontact icon
    Director of Constituent Services
  • Zack Lykecontact icon
    Senior Communications Advisor
  • Victoria Shoemakercontact icon
    Senior Advisor
  • Juan Valdezcontact icon
    Senior Advisor
  • Jackie Boldscontact icon
    Executive Assistant
  • Alice Aguirrecontact icon
    Senior Executive Secretary
COVID-19 Health Transition Team Releases Guidance on Reopening San Antonio, Bexar County

Published on Tuesday, April 28, 2020

COVID-19 Health Transition Team Releases Guidance on Reopening San Antonio, Bexar County

For members of the media, please contact:
Laura Mayes, City of San Antonio (210) 207-1337
Michelle Vigil, City of San Antonio (210) 207-8172

For questions from the general public, please contact:
COVID-19 Hotline (210) 207-5779


SAN ANTONIO (April 28, 2020) — The COVID-19 Health Transition Team appointed by Mayor Ron Nirenberg and County Judge Nelson Wolff today released a multi-phase plan for reopening our community as safely as possible. 
“Reopening our economy is not without risk,” said Dr. Barbara Taylor, team chair.  “In order to avoid a resurgence of COVID-19 in our community, we must be diligent, look out for members of our community who are most at risk, and remember that we are all in this together.”
The plan offers guidance based on public health evidence, data, and expertise to re-open San Antonio and Bexar County. Taylor, assistant dean for the MD/MPH program at UT Health San Antonio, will present the plan to City Council and County Commissioners today at 1 p.m. during a virtual special joint meeting.
The proposal uses a framework including a sustained decline in new cases of COVID-19, increased testing, effective contact tracing, and surge capacity, including sufficient hospital space, workforce, and PPE for healthcare workers. The guidance also acknowledges the challenges that COVID-19 presents for those who are medically at risk, including those with chronic illness, compromised immune systems, and in group living situations – as well as low-income communities, communities of color, and other marginalized communities.

The team recommends continuous monitoring to determine whether increased public health measures are needed, including a return to prior orders and restrictions.
Councilwoman Ana Sandoval, chair of the Community Health and Equity Committee, served as City Council’s liaison to the health transition team. Commissioner Justin Rodriguez served as the liaison for Commissioners Court.
Team members include Dr. Dawn Emerick, City of San Antonio Metro Health Director; Dr. Junda Woo, City of San Antonio Metro Health Medical Director; Dr. Ruth Berggren, UT Health San Antonio infectious disease specialist; Dr. Bryan Alsip, University Health System Chief Medical Officer; Dr. Cherise Rohr-Allegrini, public health consultant; Dr. Tom Patterson, Chair of Infectious Disease, UT Health Science Center; Dr. Carrie DeWitt, group manager and infectious disease physician; Dr. Sharon Ong’uti, UT Health San Antonio Fellow; Dr. Amelie G. Ramirez, UT Health San Antonio; Dr. Kenneth R. Kemp, Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine and Pastor Antioch Missionary Baptist Church; Zan Gibbs, City of San Antonio Office of Equity Director; Rita Espinoza, City of San Antonio Metro Health; Michele Durham, BEAT AIDS Coalition Trust, and Dr. Jason Morrow, Medical Director of Inpatient Palliative Care Services at UHS.
The full report is attached. The presentation will be livestreamed on AT&T channel 99, Grande channel 20, Spectrum channel 21, digital antenna 16, and

Number of views (24185)

Documents to download