San Antonio parks offer our residents the opportunity to enjoy quality time with their family and friends in the great outdoors. Pack a picnic lunch and head out to the park to enjoy the fresh air and sunshine today.
Alcohol is prohibited, amenities are first come, first serve.
In 1908, 33 San Antonians led by Mrs. Belle Dilgarde organized the San Antonio Playgrounds Association dedicated to installation of playground equipment at city schools. The group incorporated in 1910 and purchased land at Smith and Buena Vista Streets for $2,100 to construct a playground for neighborhood children.
A pavilion was built and in 1911, the facility was named the Belle Dilgarde Playground and Recreation Center. The Association paid off its debt on the property and installed more equipment. In 1915, it deeded the land to the City of San Antonio as its first municipal playground. The newspaper reported that "this act will mark commencement of municipal playgrounds in San Antonio."
The City, encouraged by the San Antonio Playgrounds Association and National Playground and Recreation Association, continued to build facilities during the 1920s, including Lion’s Field playground, dedicated in 1925. Though Smith Park remains today one of the City’s smallest parks, only .3 acres, it is unique and historic for its role in the development of public recreation in San Antonio.