Published on Wednesday, February 28, 2018

Councilmembers Brockhouse, Sandoval and Perry File a Council Consideration Request (CCR) to Form a Mailbox Theft Task Force

CONTACT: Joseph Lopez210-315-4366

SAN ANTONIO (Feb. 28, 2018) - Councilmembers Greg Brockhouse (D6), Ana Sandoval (D7) and Clayton Perry (D10) filed a joint Council Consideration Request (CCR) to form a task force to specifically address how to improve and prevent mail theft at cluster mail boxes. 

This task force may potentially include the United States Postal Inspection Service, San Antonio Police Department, Bexar County Sheriff’s Office, City Attorney’s Office, District Attorney’s Office and neighborhood leadership to review the resources and authority of their respective departments with the goal of creating a policy and process to deal with mail theft. A second outcome of this task force is the creation of guidelines to address best practices to reduce the theft from cluster mail boxes such as placement, orientation, locking mechanisms or other options. 

Councilman Brockhouse’s statement:

“Mailbox theft is a major issue throughout the City and County. Mail theft leads to serious crimes, such as identity theft and stolen tax refund checks, which have the potential to ruin the financial lives of our citizens. Local law enforcement and City leadership should work with the United States Postal Inspection Services to create policy and enforcement mechanisms to protect our mail. Residents across San Antonio are experiencing mail theft and I am thankful to join my colleagues, Councilmember Sandoval and Perry in sponsoring this Council Consideration Request.”

We are requesting this item go to the first available Governance Committee meeting.


Number of views (2311)