Published on Thursday, January 03, 2019

Councilwoman Sandoval to Chair Public Safety Committee

Matteo Treviño, 210-323-2835


SAN ANTONIO (Jan. 3, 2019) — Following Councilman William “Cruz” Shaw’s resignation, Mayor Nirenberg has appointed Councilwoman Sandoval to assume the role of chair of the City Council’s Public Safety Committee.


“As Chair of the Public Safety Committee, Councilman Shaw charted a path forward on a number of important initiatives,” Councilwoman Sandoval remarked. “In my conversations with community members, public safety is often cited as a top concern. I look forward to bringing community concerns forward to the Public Safety Committee and promoting safe neighborhoods.”


The Public Safety Committee is responsible for establishing policies and programs related to fire protection, emergency management, EMS service delivery, police and law enforcement and judicial procedures. This committee will also recommend polices that promote enhanced community relationships in connection with policing activities. Its members include Councilmembers Greg Brockhouse, John Courage, and Clayton Perry.


Future Public Safety Committee meetings will now be broadcast via Facebook Live. Residents are encouraged to like the District 7 Facebook pageFacebook page to view future livestreams.

Number of views (1259)