COVID-19 Information
For up-to-date information on COVID-19, please visit:

Published on Wednesday, October 23, 2019

Councilwoman Rebecca J. Viagran Joins National League of Cities 2020 Presidential Task Force

SAN ANTONIO (Oct. 22, 2019) – In partnership with the National League of Cities (NLC), local elected officials have gathered to form a Task Force to help ensure community issues are raised during the 2020 Presidential election cycle.

“As a local leader, I believe I have a strong obligation while serving on the 2020 Presidential Task Force to promote the City’s public’s interest when providing candidates with the major concerns that our residents face.” said Councilwoman Rebecca J. Viagran “We have a unique opportunity as a bipartisan or nonpartisan group of elected officials to not only advance our cities’ most pressing issues to those presidential candidates, but to boost this on a national platform to guarantee that these concerns are being heard by the candidates.”

Councilwoman Viagran joins 33 local elected officials from across the country looking to find solutions for cities, towns and villages on the national election stage. During the 2020 Presidential election cycle, it is important that every community and resident feel their voice and priorities are being heard.

"Local leaders have a major part to play in the election next November," said NLC President Karen Freeman-Wilson, mayor of Gary, Indiana. "This Task Force will help drive forward innovative solutions to the most pressing challenges facing our nation’s communities.”

The Task Force has appointed bipartisan co-chairs, the Hon. Eric Garcetti of Los Angeles, California and the Hon. Francis Suarez of Miami, Florida.

"Our local platform will not be governed by a single political party, idea or group,” said NLC First Vice-President Joe Buscaino, councilmember of Los Angeles, California. “Local leaders like myself believe that political parties are irrelevant to providing necessary services for Americans. This Task Force is diverse, bipartisan and singularly focused on the success and future of our nation’s communities.”

A full list of the Task Force members is below:


Eric Garcetti, Mayor, Los Angeles, CA – co-chair
Francis Suarez, Mayor, Miami, FL – co-chair


Robin Arredondo-Savage, Councilmember, Tempe, AZ
Scott Benson, Councilmember, Detroit, MI
Andy Berke, Mayor, Chattanooga, TN
Margaret Byrnes, Executive Director, New Hampshire Municipal Association
Krisanna Clark-Endicott, Councilmember, Redmond, OR
John Dailey, Mayor, Tallahassee, FL
Cameron Diehl, Executive Director, Utah League of Cities and Towns
Kathy Ehley, Mayor, Wauwatosa, WI
Derek Green, Councilmember, Philadelphia, PA
Shannon Hardin, Council President, Columbus, OH
David Holt, Mayor, Oklahoma City, OK
Lindsey Horvath, Mayor Pro Tem, West Hollywood, CA
Chokwe Lumumba, Mayor, Jackson, MS
John Lundell, Mayor, Coralville, IA
Lily Mei, Mayor, Fremont, CA
Salvatore Panto, Mayor, Easton, PA
Steve Patterson, Mayor, Athens, OH
Stephanie Piko, Mayor, Centennial, CO
Sean Polster, Councilmember, Warrenton, VA
Grover Robinson, Mayor, Pensacola, FL
David Sander, Vice Mayor, Rancho Cordova, CA
Brandon Scott, Council President, Baltimore, MD
Rebecca Viagran, Councilmember, San Antonio, TX
Victoria Woodards, Mayor, Tacoma, WA
Acquanetta Warren, Mayor, Fontana, CA
Steve Williams, Mayor, Huntington, WV
Ex-Officio Members
Karen Freeman-Wilson, Mayor, Gary, IN, NLC President
Joe Buscaino, Councilmember, Los Angeles, CA, NLC First Vice President
Kathy Maness, Councilmember, Lexington, SC, NLC Second Vice President
Clarence Anthony, Executive Director, National League of Cities
Tim Barnes, President, Community Leaders of America
Barbara Moore, Executive Director, Democratic Municipal Officials

Number of views (682)

Author: Brandon Barnes (GPA)

Categories: City News, District 3 News