Physical Address
506 Dolorosa 
San Antonio, TX 78204

Mailing Address
P.O. Box 839966 

San Antonio, TX 78283


Media Inquiries

Email Government and Public Affairs Visit the City of San Antonio on Facebook Follow the City of San Antonio on Twitter City of San Antonio YouTube Videos  
COVID-19 Information
For up-to-date information on COVID-19, please visit:
Mayor Nirenberg, Judge Wolff name COVID-19 Health Transition Team

Published on Thursday, April 16, 2020

Mayor Nirenberg, Judge Wolff name COVID-19 Health Transition Team

For members of the media, please contact:
Laura Mayes, City of San Antonio (210) 207-1337
Michelle Vigil, City of San Antonio (210) 207-8172

For questions from the general public, please contact:
COVID-19 Hotline (210) 207-5779


SAN ANTONIO (April 16, 2019) — Mayor Ron Nirenberg and County Judge Nelson Wolff today announced the formation of the COVID-19 Health Transition Team, which will develop a plan moving out of social distancing. 
Noting that the Stay Home, Work Safe social distancing orders have helped save lives, Nirenberg and Wolff wrote in a joint memo to City Council and Commissioners Court, “Nevertheless, these measures are not permanent, and our community needs a local strategy to reenter into everyday life.
“These decisions have critical implications on our community – including our ability to avoid subsequent outbreaks, ensure we protect our most vulnerable populations, especially those in high-risk professions, and to identify parameters for transitioning into/out of restrictions,” wrote Nirenberg and Wolff.
The COVID-19 Health Transition Team is charged with developing a health transition plan by April 27. They will present the strategy to each of the working groups named earlier by Nirenberg and Wolff to recommend measures for long-term recovery and community rebuilding.
Dr. Barbara Taylor, UT Health San Antonio, associate professor of infectious diseases and associate dean for the MD/MPH Program, will be the team’s chair.  
Councilwoman Ana Sandoval, chair of the Community Health and Equity Committee, will serve as City Council’s liaison to the health transition team. Commissioner Justin Rodriguez will be the liaison for Commissioners Court.
Team members include Dr. Dawn Emerick, City of San Antonio Metro Health Director; Dr. Junda Woo, City of San Antonio Metro Health Medical Director; Dr. Ruth Berggren, UT Health San Antonio infectious disease specialist; Dr. Bryan Alsip, University Health System Chief Medical Officer; Dr. Cherise Rohr-Allegrini, public health consultant; Dr. Tom Patterson, Chair of Infectious Disease, UT Health Science Center; Dr. Carrie DeWitt, group manager and infectious disease physician; and Dr. Jason Morrow, Medical Director of Inpatient Palliative Care Services at UHS.  

Number of views (6962)