COVID-19 Information
For up-to-date information on COVID-19, please visit:
City of San Antonio issues local disaster declaration and temporary curfew

Published on Saturday, May 30, 2020

City of San Antonio issues local disaster declaration and temporary curfew

CONTACT: Laura Mayes, (210) 207-1337
SAPD: Officer Doug Greene, 210-207-7579


SAN ANTONIO (May 30, 2020) — Today, Mayor Ron Nirenberg signed a local disaster declaration and issued a temporary curfew effective 11:30 p.m. on Saturday, May 30, 2020 from until 6 a.m. on Sunday May 31, 2020 and from 10 p.m. on Sunday, May 31, 2020 until 6 a.m. on Monday June 1, 2020.
“This brief curfew will protect the safety of people and property in the downtown business district while allowing the vast majority of people to peacefully assemble,” said Mayor Ron Nirenberg.
“The planned demonstrations from earlier today were peaceful and the organizations did exactly what they said they would do to keep others safe. The situation was escalated by some bad actors whose only intent was to incite violence and cause destruction. The actions of a few do not represent the majority of those who came out to peacefully demonstrate,” said San Antonio Police Chief William McManus.
During the hours of the temporary curfew all persons must not travel on any public street or in any public place within the designated area of San Antonio’s Downtown Business District. Travel is defined without limitation as travel on foot, bicycle, skateboard, scooter, motorcycle, automobile or any other mode of transporting a person from one location to another.
A public place is defined as any place, privately or publicly owned that is accessible to the general public, including but not limited to public streets and roads, alleys, highways, driveways, sidewalks, parks, vacant lots, parking lots and unsupervised property.
A violation of the temporary curfew is a misdemeanor offense punishable by a fine of up to $1,000 and up to 180 days in jail.
The map below indicates the boundaries of the downtown business district:


curfew map
All law enforcement, fire, medical personnel and members of the news media, as well as other designated persons authorized by the City of San Antonio, San Antonio Police Department, Bexar County or State of Texas are exempt from the temporary curfew. 
Individuals traveling to and from work, seeking medical attention or engaging in exempt activities, fleeing dangerous situations, or experiencing homelessness are also exempt.
A signed copy of the declaration is attached.

Number of views (2276)

Author: Melanie Morales (GPA)

Categories: City News



Documents to download