Office of Sustainability
News Releases


Contact Us
P.O. Box 839966
San Antonio, TX 78283-3966

Physical Address
1400 S. Flores, Unit #2
San Antonio, TX 78204




Email the Office of Sustainability Sustainability on Facebook Sustainability on Twitter Sustainability on Instagram Sustainability on Pinterest Sustainability on LinkedIn


  • Douglas Melnick Email Douglas Melnick
    Chief Sustainability Officer

Communications and Public Affairs: 207-7234
Published on Thursday, January 11, 2018

Winners Announced for City’s Third Annual SA Tomorrow Sustainability Awards

Contact: Thea Setterbo, 210-207-7349

SAN ANTONIO (Jan. 11, 2018) - The City of San Antonio announced award winners for the third annual SA Tomorrow Sustainability Awards during a special awards ceremony at City Council Chambers Wednesday evening. The SA Tomorrow Awards celebrate programs, projects and building structures that promote sustainability through environmental and resident engagement.

Mayor Ron Nirenberg joined industry professionals and his City Council colleagues to honor the award winners.

“Congratulations to all of this year’s winners for their commitment to breaking new ground in their respective industries,” Mayor Nirenberg said. “Those we’ve recognized today are leaders in sustainability, possessing not only the vision but the will to take the steps necessary to make San Antonio a better, cleaner and more resilient community.”

The winners selected for 2017 support the goals of the SA Tomorrow Plan in the areas of energy, food systems, green buildings and infrastructure, land use and transportation natural resources, public health and solid waste resources. The “William R. Sinkin Solar Award” recognizes San Antonio’s designation as a Solar America City by the U.S. Department of Energy.

Winners of the 2017 SA Tomorrow Sustainability Awards are:

Single Family – New Construction

Winner: 422 Hays Street Project Team

Architect: Alamo Architects

Builder/Contractor: CVF homes


Commercial Construction

Winner: Mujer Artes Compressed Block Building

Architect: Ronn Basquette and Dwayne Bohuslav

Builder/Contractor: Esperanza


Commercial Construction - Retrofit

Winner: Portranco Branch Library/YMCA

Architect: Marmon Mok LP

Builder/Contractor: Kopplow Construction

Honorable Mention: San Antonio River Authority - Guenther and Euclid Office Retrofit

Architect: Tetra Tech, Inc. and Jacobs Engineering

Builder/Contractor: RCO Construction, L.L.C.


Industry Leader

Winner: Alamo Colleges for their commitment to carbon neutrality by 2050 and developing a Climate Action Plan to pursue its sustainability mission of “minimizing the environmental impact of its daily operations while empowering its students and employees to reduce their individual environmental impacts.

William R. Sinkin Solar Award

Winner: Nooner's Convenience Stores

Solar Installer: Self Reliant Solar

Honorable Mention: Local Sprout Project 

Solar Installer: Go Smart Solar


Sustainability Awards

Winner: Habitat for Humanity of San Antonio, Inc. - Wrecking Crew

Honorable Mention: Mahncke Park Community Garden & Food Forest

Categories: City News, Sustainability