Sustainability Summit


Contact Us
P.O. Box 839966
San Antonio, TX 78283-3966

Physical Address
1400 S. Flores, Unit #2
San Antonio, TX 78204




Email the Office of Sustainability Sustainability on Facebook Sustainability on Twitter Sustainability on Instagram Sustainability on Pinterest Sustainability on LinkedIn


  • Douglas Melnick Email Douglas Melnick
    Chief Sustainability Officer

Stay tuned for the next Summit in December 2017
Summit Presentations & Award Winners
Second Annual Summit presentations and announcement of award winners are now available:
Mitch Hagney, Local Sprouts
Sustainable opportunities in wasted space and wasted materials throughout the food industry.
Lisa Valentine Cervantes, Eco Centro
Food waste in San Antonio food industry.
Cindy Luongo Cassidy, International Dark Sky
Seeing Better Out-of-doors: The Truth About “Dark Sky” Lighting
Karen GuzSan Antonio Water System
Technology: Friend or Foe in Achieving Sustainability?
Rick Luna, CPS Energy
Energy Savings Opportunities for customers
Lee Marlowe, San Antonio River Authority
Water Quality & Pollinator Habitat
Cristian Sandoval, Earn A Bike
Keeping the bicycle alive
Hannah Santiago, VIA
Planning for 1.6 Million New Neighbors - Public Transit’s Role in Shaping the City
Chris Babis, Green Space Alliance
A Community Food Systems Approach for Building Resiliency
Awards Ceremony
Honoring Community Programs and Building Structures that Promote Sustainability

SA Tomorrow

SA Tomorrow is a three-plan approach guiding San Antonio toward smart, sustainable growth with efforts to preserve our resources and quality of life. The initiative addresses issues of importance to the entire community including air and water quality, energy efficiency, transportation, jobs and housing through the following plans: the Comprehensive Plan, the Sustainability Plan and the Multimodal Transportation Plan.

The Sustainability Summit focuses on the City Council-adopted SA Tomorrow Sustainability Plan, outlining the goals, actionable strategies and targets in key areas such as green building & infrastructure, food systems and alternative transportation. The Summit will also feature an awards ceremony honoring community programs and building structures that promote sustainability through engagement with the people who use it and the environment that surrounds it.


Contact the Office of Sustainability or call 210.207.1449.