Office of Sustainability
SA Climate Ready

Contact

Contact Us
P.O. Box 839966
San Antonio, TX 78283-3966

Physical Address
1400 S. Flores, Unit #2
San Antonio, TX 78204

Phone
210.207.6103

Fax
210.207.6934

E-mail
sustainability@sanantonio.gov 

Email the Office of Sustainability Sustainability on Facebook Sustainability on Twitter Sustainability on Instagram Sustainability on Pinterest Sustainability on LinkedIn

Staff

  • Douglas Melnick Email Douglas Melnick
    Chief Sustainability Officer

SA Climate Ready Logo

As we anticipate changes in our community related to climate change, the SA Climate Ready Plan charts the course for a more equitable, environmentally resilient and economically viable future. Visit the SAClimateReady.org for more updates and to join the mailing list.

SA Climate Ready Website image

Climate Action & Adaptation Plan (CAAP) Documents

Share Your Comments

For more information contact: sa-climateready@utsa.edu

Meetings

Open to the public. RSVPs are requested but not required. Please RSVP by email or call 210.207.6103.

Climate Equity Technical Working Group Meeting

Location: 1400 S. Flores, Main Conference Room (City of San Antonio Office of Sustainability)

  • Monday, July 23, 5:00 – 8:00 pm
  • Monday, August 27, 5:00 – 8:00 pm
  • Monday, September 24, 5:00 – 8:00 pm
  • Monday, October 22, 5:00 – 8:00 pm
  • Monday, December 3, 5:00 – 8:00 pm
Transportation & Land Use Technical Working Group Meeting

Location: 7000 San Pedro Ave. (CPS Energy Northside Customer Service Center)

  • Tuesday, July 24; 10:00 am – 1:00 pm
  • Tuesday, August 28; 10:00 am – 1:00 pm
  • Tuesday, September 25; 10:00 am – 1:00 pm
  • Tuesday, October 23; 10:00 am – 1:00 pm
  • Tuesday, December 4; 10:00 am – 1:00 pm
Waste & Consumption Technical Working Group Meeting

Location: 1400 S. Flores, Main Conference Room (City of San Antonio Office of Sustainability)

  • Wednesday, July 25; 9:00 am – 12:00 pm
  • Wednesday, August 29; 9:00 am – 12:00 pm
  • Wednesday, September 26; 9:00 am – 12:00 pm
  • Wednesday, October 24; 9:00 am – 12:00 pm
  • Wednesday, December 5; 9:00 am – 12:00 pm
Water & Natural Resources Technical Working Group Meeting

Location: Varies, see below

  • Wednesday, July 25; 2:30 – 5:30 pm; 7000 San Pedro Ave.
  • Wednesday, August 29; 2:30 – 5:30 pm; 1400 S. Flores, Main Conference Room
  • Wednesday, September 26; 2:30 – 5:30 pm; 7000 San Pedro Ave.
  • Wednesday, October 24; 2:30 – 5:30 pm; 1400 S. Flores, Main Conference Room
  • Wednesday, December 5; 2:30 – 5:30 pm; 1400 S. Flores, Main Conference Room
Energy & Buildings Technical Working Group Meeting

Location: 1400 S. Flores, Main Conference Room (City of San Antonio Office of Sustainability)

  • Thursday, July 26, 9:00 am – 12:00 pm
  • Thursday, August 30, 9:00 am – 12:00 pm
  • Thursday, September 27, 9:00 am – 12:00 pm
  • Thursday, October 25, 9:00 am – 12:00 pm
  • Thursday, December 6, 9:00 am – 12:00 pm
Steering Committee Meeting

Location: other than August 1st, TBD

  • Wednesday, August 1, 5:00 – 8:00 pm; 2800 U.S. Hwy 281 North, Tower II, CR-C145 (SAWS Customer Center Building)
  • Wednesday, September 5, 5:00 – 8:00 pm
  • Wednesday, October 3, 5:00 – 8:00 pm
  • Wednesday, November 7, 5:00 – 8:00 pm
  • Wednesday, December 12, 5:00 – 8:00 pm
Environmental Stakeholder Meeting

To RSVP or provide agenda suggestions, send an email or call 210.207.6103.

Location: 1400 S. Flores, Main Conference Room (City of San Antonio Office of Sustainability)

  • Wednesday, July 18; 4:00 – 5:00 pm
  • Wednesday, August 15; 4:00 – 5:00 pm
  • Wednesday, September 19; 4:00 – 5:00 pm
  • Wednesday, October 10; 4:00 – 5:00 pm
  • Wednesday, November 21; 4:00 – 5:00 pm
  • Wednesday, December 19; 4:00 – 5:00 pm

Background

  • March 29, 2018 - Transportation & Land Use Technical Working Group
  • March 27, 2018 - Climate Equity Technical Working Group
  • March 21, 2018 - SA Climate Ready Steering Committee and Technical Working Group Meetings (Water & Natural Resources, Solid Waste Resources, Energy & Buildings, Steering Committee) 
  • February 28, 2018 - SA Climate Ready Steering Committee and Technical Working Group Orientation. 
  • February 24, 2018 - SA Climate Ready first town hall. 
  • February 5th, 2018 - Ensuring a Resilient Local Economy in San Antonio Business Workshop
  • December 7, 2017 - SA Climate Ready Kick-off Event Video
  • November 30, 2017 - City Council on Thursday unanimously approved an agreement to develop a Climate Action and Adaptation Plan. The ordinance approved by City Council Thursday authorizes the execution of an Interagency Participation Agreement with CPS Energy and the University of Texas at San Antonio in coordination with the City of San Antonio’s Office of Sustainability. The agreement calls for the development of a Climate Action and Adaptation Plan for the City.
  • June 22, 2017 - City Council approved a resolution in support of the Paris Climate Agreement and the Mayor’s National Climate Action Agenda (MNCAA) on June 22, 2017. Consistent with the goals of the SA Tomorrow Sustainability Plan and Metro Health’s strategic plan, the Paris Climate Agreement commits to exploring the potential benefits and cost to reduce greenhouse gas emissions. San Antonio is focused on creating thriving economy, a healthy environment, and an inclusive and fair community.